Men Speak: Tim Koder, Why Are You Here?

Posted on August 12, 2014

0


Tim is another of the great men I worked with in Naples, Italy…a place that produced a long mystical connection between those of us who served together at a particular window of time.

We always wonder if the things in life we experience mean anything at all; my answer is absolutely. Why? Nobody has that answer. On one hand, it’s perfect being in uncertainty of everything we do or do not do. On the other, it’s maddening. The question is: who amongst us is “sane”, and who is “normal”?

Tim Koder: Tell us why you think you’re here?

476459_10150642343590674_2069001995_o

What do you wish to share with the world?

I like to think I am an open book, if asked about myself, I will tell whoever wants to listen. My life is sometimes funny and sometimes it seems to be tragic, but it is who I am. I am beginning to realize that we are all not that different from one another, we just took different paths to get there. Patience is the one virtue I struggle with everyday, but I try most days to be more understanding of others and see things from their perspective.

1. Do you have a spiritual or religious practice?

I have never been religious, although I have given it a try over the years. I attended church with my mother when I was younger and again with friends when I was a teen, but I never felt a connection to God, but I did enjoy the fellowship. I was baptized Catholic in Naples (Italy), kind of mandatory if you want a church wedding to an Italian girl. I didn’t feel any different afterwards then either. I’ll admit I didn’t put much effort into the idea of religion. I do not criticize those who have a religious belief in Christianity, Islam, or Judaism, it was just not the path for me. To some extent, I am actually envious of the conviction religious followers display.

I am drawn to be Spiritual, but have yet to really commit. I feel that there is a common connection with everything, but I do not have a clear understanding of what it all means.

Perhaps, it is a part of the aging process or a right of passage, to question one’s existence. I think I have an inner calling to be a part of something bigger than just existing.

you_exist_but_do_you_live__by_jeffreyverity

2. What guides you through your daily life?

I set individual goals that guide me through daily life. When I reach a goal, I go on to the next, and set some more. Everyday on the way to work, I go through a mental preview of the day to come and I try to picture what the day will consist of and think about the best way to handle trying situations.

3. Why do you think you are here on Earth?

I am not sure if there is a specific purpose to be here on earth. One could say, we are simply here to represent our species, to reproduce ensuring that our species survives. I have not discovered or realized a definitive purpose for being here, but I like to think I am here to make people happy, to be happy, to be free, to not be critical of others, and to have compassion for every living creature.

existentialism

4. What do you wish to see in the world?

I would like to see all things connected, to be in complete harmony with one another and everything. Gandhi said, “You must be the change you want to see in the world.”

I think everything in the universe is waiting for humanity to change, before it will reveal its secrets.

 NeildeGrasseTysonWeAreAllConnected

 

Men: Do you have a story you’d like to share about why you’re here? We’d love to hear it! Contact windwalkerauthor@gmail.com with your very unique story.

