Handling hopelessness when volunteering

Posted on June 28, 2014

0


Zen Monkees

It can be easy to dip into feelings of hopelessness while working to create positive change in the world. In fact, most people don’t even try their hand in philanthropic work to begin with, and not because they are lazy or selfish, but because they may be thinking, “Why bother? What difference can I make?” Sometimes, even with all that is being done for the better, it is easy to look around and see the myriad of problems still existing, and wonder if the work and effort is even a drop in the bucket.

As a sensitive person myself, I have often felt the pain of hopelessness. But I have also always known, deep inside, that what I do matters, and so have been able to pull out of the downward spiral and continue to “be the change I wish to see in the world.” Here are some tools that…

View original post 472 more words

Posted in: General